traditions of light

Today is the last day of Chanukah, which ends at sundown. And tonight is Christmas eve. The spilling over of one holiday, one tradition, into the next is always a bit confusing, creating a slightly off balance feeling at first.

Chanukah is the holiday I grew up with. Every night this past week, as I lit the candles, I stood in their light and felt myself in a very familiar place, with faint whiffs of childhood. Many years, different houses, and yet a recognizable, comfortable ritual. A simple holiday, it celebrates freedom and a miracle of holy light. Not a glittery, decked-out holiday, it still has the ability to light me from within.
DSC_6868
Christmas is my adopted holiday, growing through the years as my children have grown, creating new traditions that continue through today. I love having a tree in the house, big and fragrant, that brings the outside inside the walls of my home. Favorite ornaments are hung every year, bringing with them stories of past tree trimmings…like the year my toddler son carefully hung all the paper-mache apples on one branch. Christmas music, Christmas fragrances, lights twinkling, all create a very special atmosphere. And each night, before I go to bed, I will turn out all the house lights and sit in the glow of the lights hung in the tree.
HPIM0232
Different holidays, each one bringing me to a place of standing in the glow of light.
Happy Holiday – Debbi

Leave a comment